Reviews - Westgate Hotel

Summary
3.9

Simply wonderful - Rating 5/5

The hotel and staff are very welcoming. There is construction going outside but they are doing their best to deal with it and make sure everyone enjoys their stay.The food is plentiful and tasty! Everything is very clean and we enjoyed our stay greatly!

Reviewer: M D | Mon 10th Jun 2024 | 2 days ago


the stay was fine - Rating 2/5

At the moment, there are works of improvement in the neighbouring streets, which do not stop all day long. The noise level is therefore extremely disturbing for guests at all times. I understand that this is not the hotel's responsibility, but guests should be made aware of this information in advance.Otherwise, the stay was fine, no big luxuries; but in my case, it was a business trip, so it served its purpose.The staff was very attentive and pleasant.

Reviewer: {$initals_only} | Mon 10th Jun 2024 | {$human_timing}


Nice stay in Oxford- Rating 5/5

Recently had a very nice stay at the Westgate Hotel. All of the staff were great, but Gabby in particular was such a help to us. She was so friendly and kind, and her sightseeing and dinner recommendations really made for a nice time. The room itself was clean and comfortable, and the location across from the train station is great. The breakfast was really nice, and so was the service. The road construction outside was unfortunate and made us feel bad for the businesses, but it sounds like it is close to being done. The hotel was kind enough to warn us about it in advance, which we appreciated, but most of our stay was unaffected by it. I would be happy to stay here again!

Reviewer: James P | Sun 9th Jun 2024 | 3 days ago


Good. - Rating 4/5

Very good. No complaints, good value. Good breakfast. Enjoyed chatting in Chinese with Chinese lady on your staff (don’t know her name). Road works interesting but no noise at night. Small point: toilet seat room 11 fixings need tightening up.

Reviewer: Carey H | Thu 6th Jun 2024 | 6 days ago


Courtesy, cleanliness, convenience - Rating 5/5

Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet abundant and fresh. High level of cleanliness. Convenient to bus and train station. Steep, narrow stairs would be challenging for any with mobility issues. Nearby city work project generating noise into the evening hours.

Reviewer: Janette L | Fri 31st May 2024 | 1 week ago


a friendly place - Rating 4/5

I had a very pleasant stay at Westgate Hotel.The staff is very welcoming and friendly.The Hotel is well situated and close to all the interesting places.Will come back here !

Reviewer: Cecile | Tue 28th May 2024 | 2 weeks ago


This stay was quite an imposition - Rating 1/5

I find the hotel to be completely overpriced, the room amenities of poor quality, the cleanliness inadequate, and the service bad. There was a huge construction site in front of the hotel, and they worked around the clock (24/7!!). I could only sleep for maybe 2 hours at night. However, there was no prior information about this situation (otherwise, I would not have booked the hotel at all), nor was there an apology or a discount. The price-performance ratio is an absolute disaster and unacceptable, even without considering the construction. I really do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Reviewer: {$initals_only} | Tue 28th May 2024 | {$human_timing}


Traditional Hotel at backside Railway Station - Rating 3/5

A somewhat older hotel / restaurant, no elevator.Friendly staff that brought my suitcase upstairs.Rooms simple, very small TV with poor / bad receptions,internet signal week.They toasted gluten-free bread for me, no gluten free serials available (but I had my own).

Reviewer: Stephen B | Sun 26th May 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Great Location close to Railways and Coach Station.- Rating 4/5

This is because of the hotel location and the reseasonable prices , I selected this hotel but annex only. The annex room is small but clean in general. This could be better if the spider webs and the external areas , specificallythe main entrance can be tidied up ! The main building is fine !

Reviewer: Chau T | Sun 26th May 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Nice people great location- Rating 5/5

This is a gem with a great location close to everything at a reasonable price for what you get. We had a teenager and two adults and room 1 was bigger than expected with an updated bathroom. The noise from construction nearby was not as loud as I expected and the hotel had thoughtfully put some boards in the roomTo cover windows with soundproofing if needed, which is more than many higher end accomodation options would do in a similar situation. The stairs are narrow and do not have rails all the way up so be careful on the stairs. The breakfast included had a good range of options like pastry fruit three cereals toast choice of multiple yogurts and hard boiled eggs. The garden area is absolutely charming and there are books and maps available to travellers. Tv in the room was big. Beds and room were very clean and comfortable. Staff super friendly and very fast with breakfast service. Communication with the hotel pre booking and post booking was very thorough and gave details of roadworks and closures well ahead of time and there is a good discount for booking ahead directly. Don’t stay anywhere else in Oxford!

Reviewer: Nikki P | Fri 24th May 2024 | 2 weeks ago